NZ’s foremost in-house leaders recognised

by NZ Lawyer25 Sep 2019

The foremost in-house counsel across New Zealand have been selected for the inaugural NZ Lawyer In-house Leaders list.  

From a strong field of nominees, twenty-five premier lawyers are being recognised for their leadership, epitomized by their drive to be creative, innovative, and efficient. All of them have solid track records of achievement in their careers.

Sorted alphabetically by company, the 2019 In-house Leaders are:

  • Hayley Cassidy – BNZ; Chief general counsel
  • Caroline Beaumont – City Rail Link; General counsel
  • Patrick Gamble – Complectus Limited (Perpetual Guardian); General counsel and company secretary
  • Marion Franks – Downer New Zealand; Chief legal counsel
  • Charles Bolt – Fletcher Building; Group General counsel and company secretary
  • Andrew Cordner – Fonterra; Director of Legal
  • Julian Benefield – Foodstuffs; Associate General counsel
  • Mike Brooker – Foodstuffs North Island; General counsel and company secretary
  • Anton Shead – Goodman; General counsel and company secretary
  • Kathryn Low – Housing New Zealand Corporation; Associate general counsel – legal operations
  • Blair Williams – IAG; General counsel and executive general manager external relations
  • Vanessa Simons – Kiwi Wealth; General counsel
  • Malcolm Swan – McDonald’s NZ; General counsel and company secretary
  • Howard Thomas – Mercury; General counsel and company secretary
  • Ann Brennan – Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment; Chief legal advisor
  • Grant Fraser – Mitre 10 New Zealand; General counsel
  • Hamish MacdonaldNZX; Head of external relations and general counsel
  • Tim Peacocke – Samsung Electronics; General counsel
  • Jo Wong – SKYCITY Entertainment Group; General counsel and company secretary
  • Melissa Anastasiou – Spark New Zealand; General counsel
  • Annette Quesado – Suncorp New Zealand; Executive manager corporate legal
  • John Rodger – Vector Ltd; General counsel
  • Sabina Bickelmann – Vend; General counsel and company secretary
  • Emily Acland – Vocus Group; General counsel
  • Juliet Jones – Vodafone NZ; Legal director

For further details about the achievements of this year’s In-House Leaders, click here.