NZ lawyers are winners at Australasian Law Awards

by NZ Lawyer18 May 2018

NZ lawyers and firms made a good showing at the Australasian Law Awards that were held at The Star in Sydney on Thursday, 17 May.

The event was attended by over 650 leading legal professionals from across Australia and New Zealand. Awards were presented in 33 categories, recognising the work of dealmakers and specialist and boutique firms, as well as the arbitrators, mediators and young talents that are setting the benchmark in the industry.

Fonterra Co-operative Group Limited scored the Russell McVeagh NZ In-House Team of the Year award, which is its fourth trophy in the Australasian Law Awards category. The win follows its achievement of the Russell McVeagh In-House Team of the Year in 2017’s NZ Law Awards.

Bell Gully was also a winner this time, picking up the NZ Deal Firm of the Year award. Late last year, the Bell Gully corporate team was given the highly commended accolade for the NZ Lawyer Deal Team of the Year (>100 lawyers).

Finally, Pip Greenwood, Russell McVeagh corporate partner, won the NZ Dealmaker of the Year award – her fifth Australasian Law Awards trophy. Greenwood also clinched the NZ Dealmaker of the Year title in 2016, 2012, 2010 and 2008.

Chapman Tripp and Russell McVeagh were also involved in a deal that won the Energy & Resources Deal of the Year award. Chapman Tripp, which advised Beach Energy on its winning AU$1.585bn bid for Origin Energy's Lattice Energy unit, was led by partner Josh Blackmore, who was assisted by senior associate Simon Peart and solicitor Tom Jemson. Russell McVeagh's team, which handled the New Zealand aspects of the deal for the vendors, was led by corporate partners Mei Fern Johnson and David Raudkivi, who were supported by senior associate Gareth Worthington.

The gala night was hosted by Australian comedian Lawrence Mooney and entertainment was provided by the Luke Zanc Duo and a trapeze duo from Aerialize Sydney Aerial Theatre.

NZ Lawyer congratulates all of last night’s award finalists and winners!


Related stories:
Australasian Law Awards: New Zealand categories