New Law Commission appointments announced

by Miklos Bolza16 Dec 2015
The appointment of three new law commissioners was announced today by Justice Minister Amy Adams.

Douglas White QC, Donna Buckingham and Helen McQueen will become new members of the Law Commission for a period of five years.

“Between them, these three new appointees have a tremendous depth of experience and know-how, and bring a fresh perspective to one of the justice sector’s most important policy institutions,” Adams said.

She noted their considerable experience would hopefully contribute to any law reform projects initiated by the Commission in the future.

Adams also recognised the ongoing support and involvement of the two outgoing law commissioners, Judge Peter Boshier and Dr Geoffrey McLay.

“I want to pay tribute to the important contribution Judge Boshier and Dr McLay have each made over their time as Law Commissioners. They have left a tremendous legacy of reports which have helped improve the legal framework of New Zealand and I’m grateful for all their work,” she said.