Māori Law Society elects leaders

by Sol Dolor19 Oct 2018

Te Hunga Rōia Māori o Aotearoa, the Māori Law Society, has elected new co-presidents.

Glenn Tootill and Marcia Murray have been appointed tumuaki tane and tumuaki wahine, respectively, after the Māori Law Society’s annual conference in Rotorua, according to the New Zealand Law Society.

Of Waikato-Maniapoto descent, Tootill is currently part of McCaw Lewis. He specialises in Māori land and commercial law. He also acts in Waitangi Tribunal claims and treaty settlements.

Murray, who is of Ngāi te Rangi, Ngāti Ranginui, Tuhourangi and Ngā Puhi descent, works in the Ministry of Environment. She also worked at the Waitangi Tribunal.

The new leaders of the Māori Law Society succeed Ophir Cassidy and Tu’inukutavake Barron Afeaki.