Law Society's Otago branch elects new president

by Duffie Osental15 Jun 2019

The Otago branch of the New Zealand Law Society (NZLS) has elected Jo Hambleton as its new president, replacing outgoing president John Farrow.

Hambleton is an associate at O'Neill Devereux, a Dunedin-based firm that specialises in assisting clients buy and sell property throughout New Zealand. Hambleton was admitted as a barrister and solicitor in 1999 after graduating from Otago University. She also completed a graduate diploma in child advocacy in 2007 and specialises in family law.

The Otago branch held elections at its annual general meeting on 12 June. Apart from Hambleton, members also elected Taryn Gudmanz as vice president, Dale Lloyd as representative for Central Otago, Louise Laming as representative for North Otago, Derek McLachlan as representative for new practitioners, Karen Billinghurst as representative for the Otago Women Lawyers Society (OWLS), Ben France-Hudson as representative for law faculty, and Will Martin, Lisa Brown, Sharon Knowles, Craig Power, Lucia Vincent as council members.