Courthouses to close due to industrial action

by Sol Dolor19 Sep 2018

The Ministry of Justice has warned that District and High courthouses, as well as tribunal offices, will be closed to the public from 10:30am to 12:30pm on Wednesday.

The ministry decided to close the courthouses and offices as members of the Public Service Association are going on strike to seek a fair deal for low-paid and female workers.

The ministry said that public counters will also be generally closed between those times. The Auckland High Court is hearing a limited number of matters, but all other High and District Court registries and public counters will be closed to the public.

All District Court matters scheduled for the morning will be rescheduled to future dates. The court will contact defendants, witnesses, and other parties with the new schedule.

Hearings will begin at the District and High Courts from 2:15pm.

To deal with overnight arrests, arrest courts will operate between 9am and 10:15am at the following District Courts:

  • Auckland District Court
  • Manukau District Court
  • Christchurch District Court
  • Waitakere District Court
  • North Shore District Court
  • Hamilton District Court
  • Tauranga District Court
  • Rotorua District Court
  • Palmerston North District Court
  • Wellington District Court
  • Whāngarei District Court
  • Dunedin District Court
  • Hutt Valley District Court, and
  • Porirua District Court.

The ministry said that all Disputes Tribunal and Tenancy Tribunal hearings will be adjourned until the afternoon. Public counters will be closed.

Though the ministry’s contact centre, which can be reached at 0800 268 787, will continue to operate, the ministry said that there will be delays in answering calls and receiving responses to calls placed to offices.