13 top NZ lawyers appointed as Queen’s Counsel

by Sol Dolor07 Jun 2017
New Zealand has 13 new Queen’s Counsel.

The appointments were announced by Attorney-General Christopher Finlayson QC, who said it recognises lawyers who have excelled at the highest level of law.
Last year, 12 Queen’s Counsel were appointed.

The new Queen’s Counsel are:

  • John Dixon
  • Suzanne Robertson
  • Rachael Reed
  • Paul Borich
  • Adam Ross
  • Jennifer Cooper
  • Simon Mount
  • Andrew Barker
  • Greg Blanchard
  • Campbell Walker
  • Grant Brittain
  • James Every-Palmer
  • Tony Angelo
The governor-general appoints Queen’s Counsel on the recommendation of the attorney-general and the agreement of the chief justice.

Related stories:
Employment Court gets new chief judge
Top firm snags senior Crown Law lawyer